经济指标的重要性

经济指标是显示经济方向的关键统计数据。 重要的经济事件推动了外汇价格走势,因此重要的是要对全球经济事件进行家庭化,以便进行适当的基本面分析,这将使外汇交易者能够做出明智的交易决策。

对所有投资者来说,解释和分析指标非常重要,因为它们表明经济的整体健康状况,预测其稳定性,并使投资者能够及时应对突发或不可预测的事件,也称为经济冲击。 它们也可以被称为交易者的“秘密武器”,因为它们揭示了接下来会发生什么,对经济的期望以及市场可以采取的方向。

国内生产总值(GDP)

GDP报告是所有经济指标中最重要的指标之一,因为它是衡量整体经济状况的最大指标。 它是衡量本季度整个经济体所产生的所有商品和服务的货币价值总额(不包括国际活动)。经济生产和增长 - GDP所代表的,对其中的几乎每个人都有很大的影响。经济。 例如,当经济健康时,我们通常会看到低失业率和工资增长,因为企业需要劳动力来满足不断增长的经济需求。 由于经济不景气通常意味着公司的收益较低,这转化为较低的货币和股票价格,因此GDP的上升或下降的重大变化通常会对市场产生重大影响。 投资者真的担心GDP增长负增长,这是经济学家用来确定经济是否陷入衰退的因素之一。

消费者物价指数(CPI)

该报告是最广泛使用的通货膨胀指标。 它衡量一揽子消费品和服务的成本每月变化。 CPI由其组成的基准年度市场篮子来源于从美国数千个家庭收集的详细支出信息,该篮子由超过200类别的商品和服务组成,分为八组:食品和饮料,住房,服装,运输,医疗,娱乐,教育和通讯等商品和服务。 为制定生活成本变化的清晰图景而采取的广泛措施有助于使金融机构获得通胀感,如果不加以控制,可能会破坏经济。 商品和服务价格的变动最直接影响固定收益证券(一种以固定定期付款形式提供回报的投资以及到期时本金的最终回报)。 在经济增长中预计会出现温和而稳定的通货膨胀,但如果用于生产商品和服务的资源价格迅速上涨,制造商可能会出现利润下滑。 另一方面,通货紧缩可能是一个负面迹象,表明消费者需求下降。

消费者价格指数可能是最重要和最受关注的经济指标,也是确定生活费用变化的最着名措施。 它用于调整工资,退休福利,税收和其他重要经济指标。 它可以告诉投资者金融市场可能发生的事情,它们与消费者价格有直接和间接的关系。

生产者价格指数(PPI)

与CPI一起,该报告被视为最重要的通胀指标之一。 它衡量批发层面的商品价格。 与CPI形成对比的是,PPI衡量的是生产者收到的商品数量,而CPI则衡量消费者为商品支付的成本。 投资者眼中最大的特点是PPI预测CPI的能力。 该理论认为,零售商所经历的大多数成本增加将转嫁给消费者。 PPI的一些优势是:

  • 最准确的未来CPI指标
  • 数据系列的“运营历史”
  • 受调查公司的投资者(模拟,商品信息,一些服务行业)有很好的细分
  • 可以积极推动市场
  • 数据显示有季节调整和没有季节调整

另一方面,缺点是:

  • 能量和食物等挥发性元素可以使数据倾斜
  • 并非所有经济行业都受到保护

PPI因其通胀预测而受到很多曝光,可被视为有影响力的市场推动者。 对于分析潜在销售和盈利趋势所涵盖行业的投资者而言,它非常有用。

零售销售指数

该报告衡量了零售业内销售的商品,并对全国各地的一系列零售店进行了抽样调查。 它反映了上个月的数据。 调查中使用各种规模的公司,从沃尔玛到独立的小城镇企业。 由于该调查将涵盖上个月的销售额,因此它不仅可以及时显示这一重要行业的表现,还可以作为整体价格水平活动的指标。 零售销售被认为是一个同步指标(衡量特定地区当前经济活动状况的指标),因为它反映了当前的经济状况,并且它也被认为是一个至关重要的前通胀指标,从而产生了最大的利益。华尔街观察家和会议审查委员会负责跟踪联邦储备委员会主任的数据。 零售销售报告的发布可能导致市场上出现高于平均水平的波动。

它作为通胀压力预测因素的明确性可能会导致投资者重新考虑美联储降息或加息的可能性,具体取决于潜在趋势的方向。 例如,在商业周期中期零售销售的急剧上升之后,美联储可能会出现短期的利率上调,以期限制可能出现的通货膨胀。 如果零售增长停滞或放缓,这意味着消费者不会在之前的水平上消费,并可能因个人消费在经济健康中发挥重要作用而发出衰退信号。

就业指标

最重要的就业公告发生在每个月的第一个星期五。 它包括失业率(失业人口的百分比,创造的就业人数,每周平均工作时数和平均每小时收入)。 该报告通常会导致重大的市场变动。 NFP(非农就业)报告可能是具有推动市场最大动力的报告。 因此,许多分析师,交易员和投资者预计NFP数量和它将导致的定向运动。 有这么多人观看这份报告并对其进行解读,即使这个数字符合估算值,也会导致大幅度的波动。

与其他指标一样,实际NFP数据与预期数据之间的差异将决定数据在市场中的总体影响。 在非农就业人数不断扩大的情况下,这是经济增长的良好迹象,反之亦然。 但是,如果NFP的增长速度很快,这可能会导致通货膨胀率上升。

消费者信心指数(CCI)

顾名思义,该指标衡量的是消费者信心。 它被定义为消费者在经济状况方面的乐观程度,通过消费者储蓄和支出活动来表达。 这个经济指标在本月的最后一个星期二发布,它衡量人们对收入稳定性的看法,这对他们的经济决策,即他们的支出活动有直接影响。 因此,CCI被视为整体经济形态的关键指标。

这些指标用作国内生产总值消费成分水平的指标,美联储在确定利率变化时会考虑CCI。

耐用品订单

该报告衡量了人们在长期购买(预计持续超过3年的产品)上花费了多少,并且可以提供对制造业未来的一些了解。 投资者不仅在名义上的订单水平,而且作为整体商业需求的标志。 资本品代表了公司可以进行的更高成本的资本升级,并表明对商业条件的信心,这可能导致供应链上的销售额增加,以及工作时间和非农业工资单的增加。 耐用品订单的一些优势是:

  • 良好的行业故障
  • 提供原始数据和季节性调整数据
  • 提供前瞻性数据,如库存水平和新业务,计入未来收益

另一方面,可以识别的弱点是:

  • 调查样本没有统计标准偏差来衡量误差
  • 极不稳定; 移动平均线应该用于确定长期趋势

该报告总体上提供了对大多数指标的供应链的更多洞察,并且在帮助投资者了解最具代表性的行业的盈利潜力方面尤其有用。

米色书

该指标的发布日期是每个联邦公开市场委员会(FOMC)利率会议之前的两个星期三,每年八次(8)次。 “褐皮书”一词用于美联储报告中称为 美联储当前经济形势评述综述.

褐皮书一般包括来自银行的报告以及与经济学家,市场专家等的访谈,并用于向成员通报自上次会议以来可能发生的经济变化。 通常进行的讨论围绕劳动力市场,工资和价格压力,零售和电子商务活动以及制造业产出。 米色书籍给投资者带来的重要性在于,他们可以看到具有前瞻性的评论,可能有助于预测趋势并预测未来几个月的变化。

利率

利率是外汇市场的主要驱动因素,联邦公开市场委员会密切关注所有上述经济指标,以确定经济的整体健康状况。 美联储可以相应地决定是否会降低,上涨或者保持利率不变,这一切都取决于收集的有关经济健康状况的证据。 利率的存在允许借款人立即花钱而不是等待存钱来进行购买。 利率越低,人们就越愿意借钱购买房屋或汽车。 当消费者支付的利息减少时,这给他们带来了更多的花钱,这可能会对整个经济中增加支出产生连锁反应。 另一方面,较高的利率意味着消费者没有那么多的可支配收入,必须削减开支。 当较高的利率与增加的贷款标准相结合时,银行的贷款减少。 这会影响消费者,企业和农民,他们将削减新设备的支出,从而降低生产力或减少员工数量。 每当利率上升或下降时,我们都会听到联邦基金利率(银行用来互相贷款的利率)。 利率的变化可能会影响通货膨胀和经济衰退。 通货膨胀是指由于强劲健康的经济,商品和服务价格随着时间的推移而上升。 但是,如果不加控制通货膨胀,就会导致购买力大幅下降。 可以看出,利率通过影响消费者和企业支出,通货膨胀和经济衰退来影响经济。 通过调整联邦基金利率,美联储有助于长期保持经济平衡。

了解利率与美国经济之间的关系,有助于投资者了解大局并做出更好的投资决策。

住房数据

该报告包括在本月内开始建造的新房数量以及现有房屋销售数量。 住宅活动是一个国家经济刺激的主要原因,也是衡量经济实力的一个很好的指标。 现有房屋销售低和新房开工率低可视为经济疲软的表现。 建筑许可和住房统计数据将显示为与上个月和同比年度相比的百分比变化。 房屋开工和建筑统计数据都被视为领先指标,建筑许可数据用于计算美国经济谘商会的美国领先指数(每月用来预测未来几个月全球经济走势方向的指数)。 这通常不是一个震惊市场的报告,但是一些分析师将使用住房开工报告来帮助创建其他基于消费者的指标。

企业利润

该统计报告由经济分析局(BEA)按季度创建,并总结了企业在国民收入和产品账户(NIPA)中的净收入。

它们的重要性在于与GDP的相关性,因为强劲的企业利润反映了销售额的增长并鼓励就业增长。 公司利用其利润筹集资金,向股东支付股息或重新投资于其业务。 此外,投资者寻找良好的投资机会,因此他们提高了股市表现。

贸易平衡

贸易差额是给定时期内某个国家的进出口差额。 它被经济学家用作统计工具,因为它使他们能够理解一个国家经济与其他国家经济相比的相对优势以及国家间的贸易流动。

贸易顺差是可取的,其中正值意味着出口大于进口; 另一方面,贸易逆差可能导致巨额国内债务。

该指数每月公布。

消费者情绪

这种统计测量是经济总体健康状况的经济指标,由消费者意见决定。 它包括对个人当前财务状况的感受,短期内该县经济的健康状况以及对长期经济增长的预测。

可以使用消费者情绪,以了解人们对当前市场状况的乐观态度或悲观态度。

制造业PMI

制造业PMI是特定国家制造业经济健康状况的指标。 该指数基于制造业领先公司的销售经理调查,衡量他们对当前经济状况和未来前景的看法。

该指数由Markit和ISM发布,其中ISM调查被认为更为重要。

指数上涨导致货币走强,50点数被视为关键水平,高于此关键水平,制造业务活动正在上升且下方正在下降。

制造业PMI指数每月公布。

立即开设免费的ECN账户!

生活 演示
货币

外汇交易存在风险。
您可能会失去所有投资资本。

FXCC品牌是一个在不同司法管辖区内获得授权和监管的国际品牌,致力于为您提供最佳的交易体验。

FX Central Clearing Ltd(www.fxcc.com/eu)受塞浦路斯证券交易委员会(CySEC)监管,CIF许可证号为121 / 10。

Central Clearing Ltd(www.fxcc.com)受瓦努阿图金融服务委员会(VFSC)监管,许可证号为14576。

风险警告:外汇交易和差价合约(CFDs)是杠杆产品,具有高度投机性并且存在巨大的损失风险。 有可能失去所有投入的初始资本。 因此,外汇和差价合约可能并不适合所有投资者。 只投资你能负担得起的钱。 所以请确保您完全理解 涉及的风险。 如有必要,寻求独立的建议。

FXCC不为美国居民和/或公民提供服务。

版权所有©2019 FXCC。 版权所有。

We use cookies to give you a better online experience. By using our website you agree to
our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Importance of Economic Indicators

Economic indicators are the key statistics that show the direction of an economy. Important economic events drive the forex price movements, therefore it is important to get famil-iarized of the global economic events in order to perform proper fundamental analysis, which will enable Forex traders to make informed trading decisions.

Interpreting and analyzing the indicators is important for all investors as they indicate the overall health of the economy, anticipate its stability and enables investors to respond on time to sudden or unpredictable events, also known as economic shocks. They can also be referred to as a traders 'secret weapon' as they reveal what is to come next, what may be expected of the economy and which direction the markets can take.

GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT (GDP)

The GDP report is one of the most important of all economic indicators, as it is the biggest measure of the overall state of the economy. It is the total of monetary value of all the goods and service produced by the entire economy during the quarter being measured (does not include international activity).The economic production and growth- what GDP represents, has a large impact on nearly everyone within that economy. For example, when the economy is healthy, what we will typically see is low unemployment and wage increases as businesses demand labor to meet the growing economy. A significant change in GDP, up or down, usually has a significant effect on the market, due to the fact that a bad economy usually means lower earnings for companies, which translates into lower currency and stock prices. Investors really worry about negative GDP growth, which is one of the factors economists use to determine whether an economy is in recession.

CONSUMER PRICE INDEX (CPI)

This report is the most widely used measure of inflation. It measures the change in the cost of a bundle of consumer goods and services from month to month. The base – year market basket of which he CPI is composed of, is derived from detailed expenditure information collected from thousands of families across the U.S. the basket consists of more than 200 categories of goods and services separated into eight groups: food and beverage, housing, apparel, transportation, medical care, recreation, education and communication and other goods and services. The extensive measures taken to formulate a clear picture of changes in the cost of living helps keep financial players to get a sense of inflation, which can destroy an economy if it is not controlled. Movements in the prices of goods and services most directly affect fixed-income securities (an investment that provides a return in the form of fixed periodic payments and the eventual return of principal in maturity). Modest and steady inflation is expected in a growing economy, but if the prices of resources used in production of good and services rise quickly, manufacturers may experience profit declines. On the other hand, deflation can be a negative sign indicating a decline in consumer demand.

The CPI is probably the most important and widely watched economic indicator and it is the best known measure for determining the cost of living changes. It is used to adjust wages, retirement benefits, tax brackets and other important economic indicators. It can tell the investors of what may happen in the financial markets, which share both direct and indirect relationships with consumer prices.

PRODUCER PRICE INDEX (PPI)

Along with the CPI, this report is seen as one of the most important measures of inflation. It measures the price of goods at the wholesale level. As a contrast to CPI, PPI measures how much producers are receiving for the goods while CPI measures the cost paid by consumers for the goods. The biggest attribute in the eyes of the investors is the ability of PPI to predict the CPI. The theory is that most cost increases that are experienced by retailers will be passed on to consumers. Some of the strengths of the PPI are:

  • Most accurate indicator of future CPI
  • Long ‘operating history’ of data series
  • Good breakdowns from investors in the companies surveyed (miming, commodity info, some services sectors
  • Can move the markets positively
  • Data is presented with and without seasonal adjustment

On the other hand, the weaknesses are:

  • Volatile elements, such as energy and food can tilt the data
  • Not all industries in the economy are covered

The PPI gets a lot of exposure for its inflationary foresight and can be viewed as an influential market mover. It is useful for investors in the industries covered in terms of analyzing potential sales and earnings trends.

RETAIL SALES INDEX

This report measures goods sold within the retails industry and it takes a sampling of a set of retail stores across the country. It reflects data from the previous month. Companies of all sizes are used in the survey, from Wal-Mart to independent, small town businesses. As the survey will cover the previous month’s sales, it makes it a timely indicator of not only the performance of this important industry but of price level activity as a whole. Retail sales is considered a coincident indicator (metric that shows the current state of economic activity within a particular area) as it reflects the current state of the economy, and it is also considered a vital pre-inflationary indicator, which creates the biggest interest from Wall Street watchers and the Conference Review Board that tracks data for the Federal Reserve Board’s directors. The release of the Retail Sales report can cause above average volatility in the market.

Its clarity as a predictor of inflationary pressure can cause investors to rethink the likelihood of Fed rate cuts or hikes, depending on the direction of the underlying trend. For example, a sharp rise in the retail sales in the middle of the business cycle may be followed by a short-term hike in interest rates by the Fed in the hope of restricting possible inflation. If retail growth is stalled or slowing, this means consumers are not spending at previous levels and could signal recession due to the significant role personal consumption plays in the health of the economy.

EMPLOYMENT INDICATORS

The most important employment announcement occurs on the first Friday every month. It includes the unemployment rate (percentage of the work force that is unemployed, the number of jobs created, the average hours worked per week and average hourly earnings). This report usually results in significant market movement. The NFP (Non-Farm Employment) report is perhaps the report that has the biggest power to move the markets. As a result many analysists, traders and investors anticipate the NFP number and the directional movement it will cause. With so many parties watching this report and interpreting it, even when the number comes in line with the estimates, it can cause large rate swings.

As with other indicators, the difference between the actual NFP data and the expected figures will determine the overall effect of the data in the market. In the non-farm payroll is expanding, it is a good indication that the economy is growing and vice versa. However, if increases in NFP occur at a fast rate, this may lead to an increase in inflation.

CONSUMER CONFIDENCE INDEX (CCI)

As the name indicates, this indicator measure the consumer confidence. It is defined as the degree of optimism that the consumers have in terms of the state of the economy, which is expresses through consumers saving and spending activity. This economic indicator is released last Tuesday of the month, and it measures how confident people feel about their income stability that has a direct effect on their economic decisions, in other words, their spending activity. For this reason, CCI is seen as a key indicator for the overall shape of the economy.

The measurements are used as an indicative of consumption component level of the gross domestic product and the Federal Reserve looks at CCI when determining interest rate changes.

DURABLE GOODS ORDERS

This report gives a measurement of how much people are spending on longer-term purchases (products that are expected to last more than 3 years) and it may provide some insight into the future of the manufacturing industry. It is useful for investors not only in nominal terms of order levels, but as a sign of business demand as a whole. Capital goods represent the higher – cost capital upgrades a company can make and signals confidence in business conditions, which could lead to increased sales further up the supply chain and gains in hours worked and non-farm payroll. Some of the strengths of the durable goods orders are:

  • Good industry breakdowns
  • Data provided raw and with seasonal adjustments
  • Provides forward-looking data such as inventory levels and new business, which count towards future earnings

On the other hand, the weaknesses that can be identified are:

  • The survey sample does not carry a statistical standard deviation to measure error
  • Highly volatile; moving averages should be used to identify long – term trends

The report in general gives more insight into the supply chain that most indicators, and can be especially useful in helping investors to get a feel for earnings potential in the most represented industries.

BEIGE BOOK

The release date of this indicator is two Wednesdays before every Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) meeting on interest rates, eight (8) times per year. The term ‘Beige Book’ is used for the Fed report called the Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District.

The Beige Book in general consist of reports from banks and interviews with economists, market experts, etc. and is used to inform the members on changes in the economy that may have occurred since the last meeting. The discussions usually held are around the labor markets, wage and price pressures, retail and ecommerce activity and manufacturing output. The importance the beige Books brings to the investors is that they can see comments which are forward-looking and may assist in predicting the trends and anticipate changes over the next few months.

INTEREST RATES

Interest rates are the major drivers of the forex market and all the above mentioned economic indicators are closely watched by the Federal Open Market Committee in order to determine the overall health of the economy. The Fed can decide accordingly if they will lower, rise or leave the interest rates unchanged, all depending on the evidence gathered on the health of the economy. The existence of interest rates allows borrowers to spend money immediately instead of waiting to save the money to make a purchase. The lower the interest rate, the more willing people are to borrow money to make big purchases, such as houses or cars. When consumers pay less in interest, this gives them more money to spend which can create a ripple effect of increased spending throughout the economy. On the other hand, higher interest rates mean that consumers do not have as much disposable income and must cut back on spending. When higher interest rate are combined with increased lending standards, banks make fewer loans. This affects the consumers, businesses and farmers who will cut back on spending for new equipment, thus slowing the productivity or reducing the number of employees. Whenever interest rates are rising or falling, we hear about the federal funds rate (the rate banks use to lend each other money). The changes in the interest rates can affect both inflation and recession. Inflation refers to the rise in the price of goods and services over time, as a result of a strong and healthy economy. However, if inflation is left unchecked, it can lead to a significant loss of purchasing power. As can be seen, interest rates affect the economy by influencing consumer and business spending, inflation and recessions. By adjusting the federal funds rate, the Fed helps keep the economy in balance over the long term.

Understanding the relationships between interest rates and the U.S. economy, helps investors to understand the big picture and make better investment decisions.

HOUSING DATA

The report comprises the number of new homes that have begun building within the month as well as existing home sales. Residential activity is a major cause of economic stimulus for a country and is a good measure of economic strength. Low existing home sales and low new home starts can be viewed as a sign of a weak economy. Both building permits and housing stats will be shown as a percentage change from the prior month and year-over-year period. The housing starts and building stats are both considered as leading indicators, and building permit figures are used to compute the Conference Board’s U.S. Leading Index (an index used monthly to predict the direction of global economic movements in the months to come). This is typically not a report that shocks the market, however some analysts will use the housing starts report to help create estimated for other consumer-based indicators.

Corporate Profits

This statistic report is created by the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) on quarterly basis and summarizes the net income of corporations in the National Income and Product Accounts (NIPA).

Their importance lies in the correlation with the GDP, as strong corporate profits reflect a rise in sales and encourage job growth. Corporations use their profit to raise financing, pay dividends to the shareholders or to re-invest in their business. In addition, investors look for good investment opportunities, therefore they increase the stock market performance.

Trade Balance

The Trade Balance is the difference between imports and exports of a given country for a given time period. It is used by economists as a statistical tool, as it enables them to understand the relative strength of a country’s economy compared to other countries’ economies and the flow of trade between nations.

Trade surpluses are desirable, where a positive value means that the exports are greater that imports; while on the other hand, trade deficits can lead towards a significant domestic debt.

The index is published monthly.

Consumer Sentiment

This statistical measurement is an economic indicator of the overall health of the economy, determined by the consumer opinion. It comprises of feelings of the current financial health of an individual, the health of the county’s economy in the short term and predictions of long-term economic growth.

Consumer sentiment can be used so as to see how optimistic or pessimistic people are towards the current market conditions.

Manufacturing PMI

The Manufacturing PMI is an indicator the economic health of the manufacturing sector of a given country. The index is based on the surveys of sales managers from leading companies across the manufacturing sector, measuring their opinion of the current economic state and the future prospects.

The index is published by Markit and ISM, where ISM survey is considered to be of more importance.

An index increase leads to currency strengthening and 50 point mark is considered as the key level, above which the manufacturing business activity is on the rise and below is declining.

The Manufacturing PMI index is published monthly.

Open a FREE ECN Account Today!

LIVE DEMO
CURRENCY

Forex trading is risky.
You may lose all your invested capital.

RISK WARNING: Trading in Forex and Contracts for Difference (CFDs), which are leveraged products, is highly speculative and involves substantial risk of loss. It is possible to lose all the initial capital invested. Therefore, Forex and CFDs may not be suitable for all investors. Only invest with money you can afford to lose. So please ensure that you fully understand the risks involved. Seek independent advice if necessary.

FXCC does not provide services for United States residents and/or citizens.

FX Central Clearing Ltd is authorised and regulated by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC), under CIF Licence Number 121/10 and operates under the EU Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID). FX Central Clearing is on the FCA(UK) Register (Reference Number 549790) and EEA Authorised.

Copyright © 2018 FXCC. All Rights Reserved.