أهمية المؤشرات الاقتصادية

المؤشرات الاقتصادية هي الإحصاءات الرئيسية التي توضح اتجاه الاقتصاد. الأحداث الاقتصادية الهامة هي التي تحرك تحركات أسعار الفوركس ، وبالتالي من المهم التعرف على الأحداث الاقتصادية العالمية من أجل إجراء تحليل أساسي مناسب ، مما سيمكن تجار الفوركس من اتخاذ قرارات تداول مستنيرة.

يعد تفسير المؤشرات وتحليلها أمرًا مهمًا لجميع المستثمرين حيث يشيرون إلى الصحة العامة للاقتصاد ، ويتوقعون استقراره ويمكّنهم من الاستجابة في الوقت المناسب للأحداث المفاجئة أو غير المتوقعة ، والمعروفة أيضًا بالصدمات الاقتصادية. يمكن الإشارة إليها أيضًا على أنها "سلاح سري" للمتداولين حيث يكشفون عما سيحدث بعد ذلك ، وما يمكن توقعه من الاقتصاد والاتجاه الذي يمكن أن تتخذه الأسواق.

الناتج المحلي الإجمالي (الناتج المحلي الإجمالي)

يعد تقرير الناتج المحلي الإجمالي أحد أهم المؤشرات الاقتصادية ، حيث إنه يعد أكبر مقياس للحالة الاقتصادية الكلية. إنه إجمالي القيمة النقدية لجميع السلع والخدمات التي ينتجها الاقتصاد بأكمله خلال الربع الذي يتم قياسه (لا يشمل النشاط الدولي). والإنتاج الاقتصادي والنمو - ما يمثله إجمالي الناتج المحلي ، له تأثير كبير على كل فرد تقريبًا في ذلك الاقتصاد. على سبيل المثال ، عندما يكون الاقتصاد في صحة جيدة ، فإن ما نراه عادة هو انخفاض معدلات البطالة وزيادة الأجور مع مطالبة الشركات بالعمل من أجل تلبية الاقتصاد المتنامي. عادةً ما يكون للتغير الكبير في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، صعودًا أو هبوطًا ، تأثير كبير على السوق ، نظرًا لحقيقة أن الاقتصاد السيئ يعني عادة أرباحًا أقل للشركات ، مما يترجم إلى انخفاض أسعار العملات والأسهم. يخشى المستثمرون حقًا من نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السلبي ، وهو أحد العوامل التي يستخدمها الاقتصاديون لتحديد ما إذا كان الاقتصاد في حالة ركود.

مؤشر أسعار المستهلك (CPI)

هذا التقرير هو مقياس التضخم الأكثر استخدامًا. إنه يقيس التغير في تكلفة مجموعة من السلع والخدمات الاستهلاكية من شهر إلى شهر. تستمد سلة السوق لسنة الأساس التي يتكون منها CPI من معلومات الإنفاق التفصيلية التي تم جمعها من الآلاف من الأسر في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. تتكون السلة من أكثر من فئات 200 للسلع والخدمات مقسمة إلى ثماني مجموعات: الطعام والمشروبات والإسكان ، والملابس ، والنقل ، والرعاية الطبية ، والترفيه ، والتعليم ، والاتصالات وغيرها من السلع والخدمات. تساعد التدابير الشاملة المتخذة لصياغة صورة واضحة للتغيرات في تكلفة المعيشة على إبقاء اللاعبين الماليين على معرفة بالتضخم ، الذي يمكن أن يدمر الاقتصاد إذا لم يتم السيطرة عليه. تؤثر الحركات في أسعار السلع والخدمات بشكل مباشر على الأوراق المالية ذات الدخل الثابت (استثمار يوفر عائدًا في شكل مدفوعات دورية ثابتة وعائد رئيسي عند الاستحقاق). من المتوقع حدوث تضخم متواضع وثابت في الاقتصاد المتنامي ، ولكن إذا ارتفعت أسعار الموارد المستخدمة في إنتاج السلع والخدمات بسرعة ، فقد تواجه الشركات المصنعة انخفاضًا في الأرباح. من ناحية أخرى ، يمكن أن يكون الانكماش علامة سلبية تشير إلى انخفاض الطلب على السلع الاستهلاكية.

ربما يكون مؤشر أسعار المستهلك هو المؤشر الاقتصادي الأكثر أهمية والذي يتم مراقبته على نطاق واسع ، وهو المقياس الأكثر شهرة لتحديد تكلفة تغيرات المعيشة. يتم استخدامه لضبط الأجور ، واستحقاقات التقاعد ، والأقواس الضريبية وغيرها من المؤشرات الاقتصادية الهامة. يمكن أن تخبر المستثمرين بما قد يحدث في الأسواق المالية ، والتي تشترك في العلاقات المباشرة وغير المباشرة مع أسعار المستهلكين.

مؤشر أسعار المنتج (PPI)

إلى جانب مؤشر أسعار المستهلك ، يُنظر إلى هذا التقرير على أنه أحد أهم مقاييس التضخم. إنه يقيس سعر البضائع على مستوى الجملة. على النقيض من مؤشر أسعار المستهلك ، يقيس مؤشر أسعار المنتجين كمية المنتجين التي يتلقونها مقابل البضائع ، بينما يقيس مؤشر أسعار المستهلك التكلفة التي يدفعها المستهلكون مقابل البضائع. السمة الأكبر في نظر المستثمرين هي قدرة مؤشر أسعار المنتجين على التنبؤ بمؤشر أسعار المستهلك. النظرية هي أن معظم الزيادات في التكاليف التي يتعرض لها تجار التجزئة سيتم نقلها إلى المستهلكين. بعض نقاط القوة في مؤشر أسعار المنتجين:

  • المؤشر الأكثر دقة لمؤشر أسعار المستهلك في المستقبل
  • "تاريخ التشغيل" الطويل لسلسلة البيانات
  • أعطال جيدة من المستثمرين في الشركات التي شملتها الدراسة (تقليد ، معلومات السلع الأساسية ، بعض قطاعات الخدمات
  • يمكن أن تحرك الأسواق بشكل إيجابي
  • يتم تقديم البيانات مع وبدون تعديل موسمي

من ناحية أخرى ، نقاط الضعف هي:

  • يمكن للعناصر المتطايرة ، مثل الطاقة والغذاء ، إمالة البيانات
  • لا يتم تغطية جميع الصناعات في الاقتصاد

يحصل مؤشر أسعار المنتجين (PPI) على الكثير من الانكشاف بسبب نظرته التضخمية ويمكن اعتباره محركًا مؤثرًا في السوق. إنه مفيد للمستثمرين في الصناعات المشمولة من حيث تحليل اتجاهات المبيعات والأرباح المحتملة.

مبيعات التجزئة INDEX

يقيس هذا التقرير البضائع المباعة داخل صناعة التجزئة ويأخذ عينات من مجموعة من متاجر البيع بالتجزئة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. يعكس بيانات الشهر السابق. يتم استخدام الشركات من جميع الأحجام في الاستطلاع ، من Wal-Mart إلى الشركات الصغيرة المستقلة في المدينة. نظرًا لأن المسح سوف يغطي مبيعات الشهر السابق ، فإنه يجعله مؤشرا في الوقت المناسب ليس فقط لأداء هذه الصناعة المهمة ولكن لنشاط مستوى الأسعار ككل. تعتبر مبيعات التجزئة مؤشرا متزامنًا (متريًا يوضح الحالة الحالية للنشاط الاقتصادي داخل منطقة معينة) لأنه يعكس الحالة الراهنة للاقتصاد ، كما أنه يعتبر مؤشرًا أساسيًا لما قبل التضخم ، مما يخلق أكبر اهتمام من مراقبو وول ستريت ومجلس مراجعة المؤتمرات الذي يتتبع البيانات الخاصة بمديري مجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي. يمكن أن يتسبب إصدار تقرير مبيعات التجزئة في ارتفاع معدل التقلب في السوق.

إن وضوحها كمؤشر للضغط التضخمي يمكن أن يتسبب في إعادة التفكير في المستثمرين باحتمالية خفض أو رفع أسعار الفائدة الفيدرالية ، وفقًا لاتجاه الاتجاه الأساسي. على سبيل المثال ، قد يعقب ارتفاع حاد في مبيعات التجزئة في منتصف دورة الأعمال ارتفاعًا قصير الأجل في أسعار الفائدة من قبل مجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي على أمل الحد من التضخم المحتمل. إذا توقف نمو البيع بالتجزئة أو تباطأ ، فإن هذا يعني أن المستهلكين لا ينفقون عند المستويات السابقة وقد يشير هذا إلى الركود بسبب الدور الهام الذي يلعبه الاستهلاك الشخصي في صحة الاقتصاد.

مؤشرات العمالة

يحدث إعلان التوظيف الأكثر أهمية في أول جمعة كل شهر. ويشمل معدل البطالة (النسبة المئوية للقوة العاملة العاطلة عن العمل ، وعدد الوظائف التي تم إنشاؤها ، ومتوسط ​​ساعات العمل في الأسبوع ومتوسط ​​الدخل بالساعة). عادة ما ينتج عن هذا التقرير حركة سوق كبيرة. ربما يكون تقرير التوظيف بغير القطاع الزراعي (NFP) هو التقرير الذي يمتلك أكبر قوة لتحريك الأسواق. نتيجة لذلك ، يتوقع العديد من المحللين والمتداولين والمستثمرين رقم NFP وحركة الاتجاه التي سيحدثها. مع قيام العديد من الأطراف بمراقبة هذا التقرير وتفسيره ، حتى عندما يتماشى العدد مع التقديرات ، فقد يتسبب ذلك في تقلبات كبيرة في الأسعار.

كما هو الحال مع المؤشرات الأخرى ، فإن الفرق بين بيانات NFP الفعلية والأرقام المتوقعة سيحدد التأثير الكلي للبيانات في السوق. في جدول الرواتب غير الزراعية في التوسع ، وهذا مؤشر جيد على أن الاقتصاد ينمو والعكس بالعكس. ومع ذلك ، إذا حدثت زيادات في NFP بمعدل سريع ، فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى زيادة التضخم.

مؤشر ثقة المستهلك (CCI)

كما يشير الاسم ، فإن هذا المؤشر يقيس ثقة المستهلك. يتم تعريفه على أنه درجة التفاؤل التي يتمتع بها المستهلكون فيما يتعلق بحالة الاقتصاد ، والتي يتم التعبير عنها من خلال نشاط الادخار والإنفاق للمستهلكين. تم إصدار هذا المؤشر الاقتصادي يوم الثلاثاء الماضي من هذا الشهر ، وهو يقيس مدى شعور الناس بالثقة حيال استقرار دخلهم الذي له تأثير مباشر على قراراتهم الاقتصادية ، وبمعنى آخر ، نشاطهم في الإنفاق. لهذا السبب ، يُنظر إلى CCI كمؤشر رئيسي للشكل العام للاقتصاد.

تُستخدم القياسات كمؤشر لمستوى مكون الاستهلاك في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ويبحث مجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي مؤشر CCI عند تحديد التغيرات في سعر الفائدة.

طلبيات السلع المعمرة

يقدم هذا التقرير قياسًا لما ينفقه الأشخاص على عمليات الشراء على المدى الطويل (المنتجات التي من المتوقع أن تستمر لأكثر من 3 عامًا) وقد يوفر بعض نظرة ثاقبة لمستقبل صناعة التصنيع. إنه مفيد للمستثمرين ليس فقط من حيث القيمة الاسمية لمستويات الطلبات ، ولكن كدليل على الطلب على الأعمال ككل. تمثل السلع الرأسمالية الترقيات الرأسمالية المرتفعة التكلفة التي يمكن أن تقوم بها الشركة وتشير إلى الثقة في ظروف العمل ، مما قد يؤدي إلى زيادة المبيعات في سلسلة التوريد وتحقيق مكاسب في ساعات العمل والرواتب غير الزراعية. بعض نقاط القوة في طلبيات السلع المعمرة هي:

  • أعطال الصناعة الجيدة
  • البيانات المقدمة الخام ومع التعديلات الموسمية
  • يوفر بيانات تطلعية مثل مستويات المخزون والأعمال الجديدة ، والتي تُعدّ نحو الأرباح المستقبلية

من ناحية أخرى ، نقاط الضعف التي يمكن تحديدها هي:

  • لا تحتوي عينة المسح على انحراف معياري إحصائي لقياس الخطأ
  • متقلبة للغاية. يجب استخدام المتوسطات المتحركة لتحديد الاتجاهات طويلة الأجل

يعطي التقرير بشكل عام مزيدًا من المعرفة حول سلسلة التوريد التي تتضمن معظم المؤشرات ، ويمكن أن يكون مفيدًا بشكل خاص في مساعدة المستثمرين على الإحساس بالأرباح المحتملة في الصناعات الأكثر تمثيلا.

كتاب بيج

تاريخ إصدار هذا المؤشر هو يومان الأربعاء قبل كل اجتماع للجنة السوق المفتوحة الفيدرالية (FOMC) بشأن أسعار الفائدة ، ثماني مرات (8) في السنة. مصطلح "كتاب بيج" يستخدم لتقرير بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي يسمى ملخص التعليق على الظروف الاقتصادية الحالية من قبل مجلس الاحتياطي الاتحادي.

يتكون كتاب البيج عمومًا من تقارير من البنوك ومقابلات مع خبراء الاقتصاد وخبراء السوق وما إلى ذلك ، ويستخدم لإبلاغ الأعضاء بالتغيرات التي قد تطرأ على الاقتصاد منذ الاجتماع الأخير. تدور النقاشات عادة حول أسواق العمل وضغوط الأجور والأسعار ونشاط التجزئة والتجارة الإلكترونية وناتج التصنيع. تكمن الأهمية التي يضفيها Books البيج على المستثمرين في أنه يمكنهم رؤية التعليقات التي تتطلع إلى المستقبل وقد تساعد في توقع الاتجاهات وتوقع التغييرات خلال الأشهر القليلة المقبلة.

اسعار الفائدة

تعتبر أسعار الفائدة هي المحرك الرئيسي لسوق الفوركس ويتم مراقبة جميع المؤشرات الاقتصادية المذكورة أعلاه عن كثب من قبل اللجنة الفيدرالية للسوق المفتوحة من أجل تحديد الصحة العامة للاقتصاد. يمكن لمجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي أن يقرر بناءً على ذلك ما إذا كان سيتم تخفيض أسعار الفائدة أو رفعها أو ترك أسعار الفائدة دون تغيير ، كل هذا يتوقف على الأدلة التي تم جمعها حول صحة الاقتصاد. يسمح وجود أسعار الفائدة للمقترضين بإنفاق الأموال على الفور بدلاً من الانتظار لتوفير المال لإجراء عملية شراء. كلما انخفض سعر الفائدة ، زاد استعداد الناس لاقتراض الأموال لإجراء عمليات شراء كبيرة ، مثل المنازل أو السيارات. عندما يدفع المستهلكون فائدة أقل ، فإن هذا يمنحهم أموالًا أكثر لإنفاقها مما قد يخلق تأثيرًا تموجًا لزيادة الإنفاق في جميع أنحاء الاقتصاد. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة يعني أن المستهلكين ليس لديهم الكثير من الدخل المتاح ويجب عليهم خفض الإنفاق. عندما يتم دمج معدل فائدة أعلى مع زيادة معايير الإقراض ، تقدم البنوك قروضًا أقل. هذا يؤثر على المستهلكين والشركات والمزارعين الذين سوف يخفضون الإنفاق على المعدات الجديدة ، وبالتالي إبطاء الإنتاجية أو تقليل عدد الموظفين. كلما ارتفعت أسعار الفائدة أو انخفضت ، نسمع عن سعر الأموال الفيدرالية (المعدل الذي تستخدمه البنوك في إقراض بعض النقود الأخرى). يمكن للتغيرات في أسعار الفائدة أن تؤثر على كل من التضخم والركود. يشير التضخم إلى ارتفاع أسعار السلع والخدمات مع مرور الوقت ، كنتيجة لاقتصاد قوي وصحي. ومع ذلك ، إذا ترك التضخم دون رادع ، فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى خسارة كبيرة في القوة الشرائية. كما يمكن أن نرى ، تؤثر أسعار الفائدة على الاقتصاد من خلال التأثير على الإنفاق الاستهلاكي والتجاري والتضخم والركود. من خلال تعديل معدل الأموال الفيدرالية ، يساعد الاحتياطي الفيدرالي في الحفاظ على توازن الاقتصاد على المدى الطويل.

إن فهم العلاقات بين أسعار الفائدة والاقتصاد الأمريكي ، يساعد المستثمرين على فهم الصورة الكبيرة واتخاذ قرارات استثمار أفضل.

بيانات الإسكان

يشتمل التقرير على عدد المنازل الجديدة التي بدأت في البناء خلال الشهر بالإضافة إلى مبيعات المنازل الحالية. النشاط السكني هو أحد الأسباب الرئيسية للتحفيز الاقتصادي لأي بلد وهو مقياس جيد للقوة الاقتصادية. يمكن اعتبار انخفاض مبيعات المنازل الحالية وبدء تشغيل المنازل الجديدة كعلامة على ضعف الاقتصاد. سيتم عرض كل من تصاريح البناء وإحصائيات الإسكان كنسبة مئوية للتغيير عن الشهر السابق وفترة سنوية. تُعتبر بداية الإسكان وإحصائيات البناء مؤشرين رئيسيين ، ويتم استخدام أرقام تصاريح البناء لحساب مؤشر مجلس الولايات المتحدة الرائد (وهو مؤشر يُستخدم شهريًا للتنبؤ بتوجيه الحركات الاقتصادية العالمية في الأشهر القادمة). لا يعد هذا عادةً تقريرًا يصدم السوق ، لكن بعض المحللين سيستخدمون تقرير بدايات الإسكان للمساعدة في إنشاء تقديرات للمؤشرات الأخرى التي تعتمد على المستهلك.

أرباح الشركات

يتم إنشاء هذا التقرير الإحصائي من قبل مكتب التحليل الاقتصادي (BEA) على أساس ربع سنوي ويلخص صافي دخل الشركات في حسابات الدخل والمنتج الوطني (NIPA).

تكمن أهميتها في الارتباط مع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، حيث تعكس أرباح الشركات القوية زيادة في المبيعات وتشجع نمو الوظائف. تستخدم الشركات أرباحها لجمع التمويل ، أو دفع أرباح الأسهم للمساهمين أو لإعادة الاستثمار في أعمالهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يبحث المستثمرون عن فرص استثمار جيدة ، وبالتالي يزيدون من أداء سوق الأوراق المالية.

الميزان التجاري

الميزان التجاري هو الفرق بين الواردات والصادرات من بلد معين لفترة زمنية معينة. يتم استخدامه من قبل الاقتصاديين كأداة إحصائية ، لأنها تمكنهم من فهم القوة النسبية لاقتصاد بلد ما مقارنة باقتصادات الدول الأخرى وتدفق التجارة بين الأمم.

فائض التجارة مرغوب فيه ، حيث تعني القيمة الإيجابية أن الصادرات أكبر من الواردات ؛ بينما من ناحية أخرى ، يمكن أن يؤدي العجز التجاري نحو دين محلي كبير.

يتم نشر الفهرس شهريًا.

ثقة المستهلك

هذا القياس الإحصائي هو مؤشر اقتصادي للصحة العامة للاقتصاد ، يحدده رأي المستهلك. وهي تشمل مشاعر الصحة المالية الحالية للفرد ، وصحة اقتصاد المقاطعة على المدى القصير وتوقعات النمو الاقتصادي على المدى الطويل.

يمكن استخدام معنويات المستهلك لمعرفة مدى تفاؤل الناس أو تشاؤمهم تجاه أوضاع السوق الحالية.

تصنيع البي ام اي

مؤشر مديري المشتريات الصناعي هو مؤشر على الصحة الاقتصادية لقطاع التصنيع في بلد معين. يعتمد المؤشر على استطلاعات مديري المبيعات من الشركات الرائدة في جميع أنحاء قطاع الصناعات التحويلية ، وذلك بقياس رأيهم حول الوضع الاقتصادي الحالي والآفاق المستقبلية.

يتم نشر الفهرس بواسطة Markit و ISM ، حيث يعتبر مسح ISM أكثر أهمية.

تؤدي الزيادة في المؤشر إلى تقوية العملة وتعتبر علامة 50 بمثابة المستوى الرئيسي ، حيث يتزايد نشاط الصناعات التحويلية وأقل من ذلك.

يتم نشر مؤشر PMI الصناعي شهريًا.

افتح حساب ECN مجاني اليوم!

حقيقي تجريبي
العملة

تداول الفوركس محفوف بالمخاطر.
قد تفقد كل رأس المال المستثمر.

علامة FXCC هي علامة تجارية دولية مرخصة ومنظمة في مختلف الولايات القضائية وتلتزم بتقديم أفضل تجربة تداول ممكنة لك.

تخضع FX Central Clearing Ltd (www.fxcc.com/eu) لتنظيم لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصة القبرصية (CySEC) برقم ترخيص CIF 121 / 10.

تخضع شركة Central Clearing Ltd (www.fxcc.com) لرقابة لجنة الخدمات المالية في فانواتو (VFSC) برقم الترخيص 14576.

تحذير من المخاطر: يعتبر التداول في الفوركس وعقود الفروق (CFDs) ، وهي منتجات ذات رافعة مالية ، مضاربات عالية وينطوي على مخاطر كبيرة للخسارة. من الممكن خسارة كل رأس المال المستثمر. لذلك ، قد لا تكون الفوركس والعقود مقابل الفروقات مناسبة لجميع المستثمرين. استثمر فقط بالمال الذي يمكنك خسارته. لذا يرجى التأكد من أنك تفهم تماما المخاطر التي تنطوي عليها. طلب المشورة المستقلة إذا لزم الأمر.

لا تقدم FXCC خدمات للمقيمين و / أو مواطني الولايات المتحدة.

حقوق الطبع والنشر © 2019 FXCC. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

We use cookies to give you a better online experience. By using our website you agree to
our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Importance of Economic Indicators

Economic indicators are the key statistics that show the direction of an economy. Important economic events drive the forex price movements, therefore it is important to get famil-iarized of the global economic events in order to perform proper fundamental analysis, which will enable Forex traders to make informed trading decisions.

Interpreting and analyzing the indicators is important for all investors as they indicate the overall health of the economy, anticipate its stability and enables investors to respond on time to sudden or unpredictable events, also known as economic shocks. They can also be referred to as a traders 'secret weapon' as they reveal what is to come next, what may be expected of the economy and which direction the markets can take.

GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT (GDP)

The GDP report is one of the most important of all economic indicators, as it is the biggest measure of the overall state of the economy. It is the total of monetary value of all the goods and service produced by the entire economy during the quarter being measured (does not include international activity).The economic production and growth- what GDP represents, has a large impact on nearly everyone within that economy. For example, when the economy is healthy, what we will typically see is low unemployment and wage increases as businesses demand labor to meet the growing economy. A significant change in GDP, up or down, usually has a significant effect on the market, due to the fact that a bad economy usually means lower earnings for companies, which translates into lower currency and stock prices. Investors really worry about negative GDP growth, which is one of the factors economists use to determine whether an economy is in recession.

CONSUMER PRICE INDEX (CPI)

This report is the most widely used measure of inflation. It measures the change in the cost of a bundle of consumer goods and services from month to month. The base – year market basket of which he CPI is composed of, is derived from detailed expenditure information collected from thousands of families across the U.S. the basket consists of more than 200 categories of goods and services separated into eight groups: food and beverage, housing, apparel, transportation, medical care, recreation, education and communication and other goods and services. The extensive measures taken to formulate a clear picture of changes in the cost of living helps keep financial players to get a sense of inflation, which can destroy an economy if it is not controlled. Movements in the prices of goods and services most directly affect fixed-income securities (an investment that provides a return in the form of fixed periodic payments and the eventual return of principal in maturity). Modest and steady inflation is expected in a growing economy, but if the prices of resources used in production of good and services rise quickly, manufacturers may experience profit declines. On the other hand, deflation can be a negative sign indicating a decline in consumer demand.

The CPI is probably the most important and widely watched economic indicator and it is the best known measure for determining the cost of living changes. It is used to adjust wages, retirement benefits, tax brackets and other important economic indicators. It can tell the investors of what may happen in the financial markets, which share both direct and indirect relationships with consumer prices.

PRODUCER PRICE INDEX (PPI)

Along with the CPI, this report is seen as one of the most important measures of inflation. It measures the price of goods at the wholesale level. As a contrast to CPI, PPI measures how much producers are receiving for the goods while CPI measures the cost paid by consumers for the goods. The biggest attribute in the eyes of the investors is the ability of PPI to predict the CPI. The theory is that most cost increases that are experienced by retailers will be passed on to consumers. Some of the strengths of the PPI are:

  • Most accurate indicator of future CPI
  • Long ‘operating history’ of data series
  • Good breakdowns from investors in the companies surveyed (miming, commodity info, some services sectors
  • Can move the markets positively
  • Data is presented with and without seasonal adjustment

On the other hand, the weaknesses are:

  • Volatile elements, such as energy and food can tilt the data
  • Not all industries in the economy are covered

The PPI gets a lot of exposure for its inflationary foresight and can be viewed as an influential market mover. It is useful for investors in the industries covered in terms of analyzing potential sales and earnings trends.

RETAIL SALES INDEX

This report measures goods sold within the retails industry and it takes a sampling of a set of retail stores across the country. It reflects data from the previous month. Companies of all sizes are used in the survey, from Wal-Mart to independent, small town businesses. As the survey will cover the previous month’s sales, it makes it a timely indicator of not only the performance of this important industry but of price level activity as a whole. Retail sales is considered a coincident indicator (metric that shows the current state of economic activity within a particular area) as it reflects the current state of the economy, and it is also considered a vital pre-inflationary indicator, which creates the biggest interest from Wall Street watchers and the Conference Review Board that tracks data for the Federal Reserve Board’s directors. The release of the Retail Sales report can cause above average volatility in the market.

Its clarity as a predictor of inflationary pressure can cause investors to rethink the likelihood of Fed rate cuts or hikes, depending on the direction of the underlying trend. For example, a sharp rise in the retail sales in the middle of the business cycle may be followed by a short-term hike in interest rates by the Fed in the hope of restricting possible inflation. If retail growth is stalled or slowing, this means consumers are not spending at previous levels and could signal recession due to the significant role personal consumption plays in the health of the economy.

EMPLOYMENT INDICATORS

The most important employment announcement occurs on the first Friday every month. It includes the unemployment rate (percentage of the work force that is unemployed, the number of jobs created, the average hours worked per week and average hourly earnings). This report usually results in significant market movement. The NFP (Non-Farm Employment) report is perhaps the report that has the biggest power to move the markets. As a result many analysists, traders and investors anticipate the NFP number and the directional movement it will cause. With so many parties watching this report and interpreting it, even when the number comes in line with the estimates, it can cause large rate swings.

As with other indicators, the difference between the actual NFP data and the expected figures will determine the overall effect of the data in the market. In the non-farm payroll is expanding, it is a good indication that the economy is growing and vice versa. However, if increases in NFP occur at a fast rate, this may lead to an increase in inflation.

CONSUMER CONFIDENCE INDEX (CCI)

As the name indicates, this indicator measure the consumer confidence. It is defined as the degree of optimism that the consumers have in terms of the state of the economy, which is expresses through consumers saving and spending activity. This economic indicator is released last Tuesday of the month, and it measures how confident people feel about their income stability that has a direct effect on their economic decisions, in other words, their spending activity. For this reason, CCI is seen as a key indicator for the overall shape of the economy.

The measurements are used as an indicative of consumption component level of the gross domestic product and the Federal Reserve looks at CCI when determining interest rate changes.

DURABLE GOODS ORDERS

This report gives a measurement of how much people are spending on longer-term purchases (products that are expected to last more than 3 years) and it may provide some insight into the future of the manufacturing industry. It is useful for investors not only in nominal terms of order levels, but as a sign of business demand as a whole. Capital goods represent the higher – cost capital upgrades a company can make and signals confidence in business conditions, which could lead to increased sales further up the supply chain and gains in hours worked and non-farm payroll. Some of the strengths of the durable goods orders are:

  • Good industry breakdowns
  • Data provided raw and with seasonal adjustments
  • Provides forward-looking data such as inventory levels and new business, which count towards future earnings

On the other hand, the weaknesses that can be identified are:

  • The survey sample does not carry a statistical standard deviation to measure error
  • Highly volatile; moving averages should be used to identify long – term trends

The report in general gives more insight into the supply chain that most indicators, and can be especially useful in helping investors to get a feel for earnings potential in the most represented industries.

BEIGE BOOK

The release date of this indicator is two Wednesdays before every Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) meeting on interest rates, eight (8) times per year. The term ‘Beige Book’ is used for the Fed report called the Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District.

The Beige Book in general consist of reports from banks and interviews with economists, market experts, etc. and is used to inform the members on changes in the economy that may have occurred since the last meeting. The discussions usually held are around the labor markets, wage and price pressures, retail and ecommerce activity and manufacturing output. The importance the beige Books brings to the investors is that they can see comments which are forward-looking and may assist in predicting the trends and anticipate changes over the next few months.

INTEREST RATES

Interest rates are the major drivers of the forex market and all the above mentioned economic indicators are closely watched by the Federal Open Market Committee in order to determine the overall health of the economy. The Fed can decide accordingly if they will lower, rise or leave the interest rates unchanged, all depending on the evidence gathered on the health of the economy. The existence of interest rates allows borrowers to spend money immediately instead of waiting to save the money to make a purchase. The lower the interest rate, the more willing people are to borrow money to make big purchases, such as houses or cars. When consumers pay less in interest, this gives them more money to spend which can create a ripple effect of increased spending throughout the economy. On the other hand, higher interest rates mean that consumers do not have as much disposable income and must cut back on spending. When higher interest rate are combined with increased lending standards, banks make fewer loans. This affects the consumers, businesses and farmers who will cut back on spending for new equipment, thus slowing the productivity or reducing the number of employees. Whenever interest rates are rising or falling, we hear about the federal funds rate (the rate banks use to lend each other money). The changes in the interest rates can affect both inflation and recession. Inflation refers to the rise in the price of goods and services over time, as a result of a strong and healthy economy. However, if inflation is left unchecked, it can lead to a significant loss of purchasing power. As can be seen, interest rates affect the economy by influencing consumer and business spending, inflation and recessions. By adjusting the federal funds rate, the Fed helps keep the economy in balance over the long term.

Understanding the relationships between interest rates and the U.S. economy, helps investors to understand the big picture and make better investment decisions.

HOUSING DATA

The report comprises the number of new homes that have begun building within the month as well as existing home sales. Residential activity is a major cause of economic stimulus for a country and is a good measure of economic strength. Low existing home sales and low new home starts can be viewed as a sign of a weak economy. Both building permits and housing stats will be shown as a percentage change from the prior month and year-over-year period. The housing starts and building stats are both considered as leading indicators, and building permit figures are used to compute the Conference Board’s U.S. Leading Index (an index used monthly to predict the direction of global economic movements in the months to come). This is typically not a report that shocks the market, however some analysts will use the housing starts report to help create estimated for other consumer-based indicators.

Corporate Profits

This statistic report is created by the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) on quarterly basis and summarizes the net income of corporations in the National Income and Product Accounts (NIPA).

Their importance lies in the correlation with the GDP, as strong corporate profits reflect a rise in sales and encourage job growth. Corporations use their profit to raise financing, pay dividends to the shareholders or to re-invest in their business. In addition, investors look for good investment opportunities, therefore they increase the stock market performance.

Trade Balance

The Trade Balance is the difference between imports and exports of a given country for a given time period. It is used by economists as a statistical tool, as it enables them to understand the relative strength of a country’s economy compared to other countries’ economies and the flow of trade between nations.

Trade surpluses are desirable, where a positive value means that the exports are greater that imports; while on the other hand, trade deficits can lead towards a significant domestic debt.

The index is published monthly.

Consumer Sentiment

This statistical measurement is an economic indicator of the overall health of the economy, determined by the consumer opinion. It comprises of feelings of the current financial health of an individual, the health of the county’s economy in the short term and predictions of long-term economic growth.

Consumer sentiment can be used so as to see how optimistic or pessimistic people are towards the current market conditions.

Manufacturing PMI

The Manufacturing PMI is an indicator the economic health of the manufacturing sector of a given country. The index is based on the surveys of sales managers from leading companies across the manufacturing sector, measuring their opinion of the current economic state and the future prospects.

The index is published by Markit and ISM, where ISM survey is considered to be of more importance.

An index increase leads to currency strengthening and 50 point mark is considered as the key level, above which the manufacturing business activity is on the rise and below is declining.

The Manufacturing PMI index is published monthly.

Open a FREE ECN Account Today!

LIVE DEMO
CURRENCY

Forex trading is risky.
You may lose all your invested capital.

RISK WARNING: Trading in Forex and Contracts for Difference (CFDs), which are leveraged products, is highly speculative and involves substantial risk of loss. It is possible to lose all the initial capital invested. Therefore, Forex and CFDs may not be suitable for all investors. Only invest with money you can afford to lose. So please ensure that you fully understand the risks involved. Seek independent advice if necessary.

FXCC does not provide services for United States residents and/or citizens.

FX Central Clearing Ltd is authorised and regulated by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC), under CIF Licence Number 121/10 and operates under the EU Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID). FX Central Clearing is on the FCA(UK) Register (Reference Number 549790) and EEA Authorised.

Copyright © 2018 FXCC. All Rights Reserved.